Applications for the UPPEJA Fellowship is now closed.

The UPPEJA Fellowship is one of the most prestigious research awards in the University of the Philippines System.
Applications are awarded to all interested and qualified researchers and scholars, in the Philippines and abroad.

Former UP President Edgardo J. Angara with UP President Alfredo Pascual and UPPEJA Fellow Prof. Stella Luz Qumibo in 2015 (Photo credit: UP School of Economics website)

The UP President Edgardo J. Angara Fellowship

The UPPEJA Fellowship is a grant for pioneering policy research. It aims to promote high level policy discussions and research on a wide range of topics that address national development goals and imperatives such as science and technology, economic development, environment and climate change, good governance and communications.

What are the benefits of being selected?

The UPPEJA Fellowship is a prestigious award that has been bestowed upon scholars that have made an impact on the public policy landscape of the Philippines. The Fellow will also be given an opportunity to present their paper together with other fellows appointed to the same research project, as well as publication in a public policy journal. Research from this iteration of the UPPEJA Fellowship will be used to guide and inform public policy recommendations of the Second Congressional Commission on Education (EDCOM II).

Fellows will also receive PhP 500,000 each.

Who are qualified to apply?

It is open to all interested and qualified faculty, lecturers, professor emeriti, and researchers both in the Philippines and abroad. Among the responsibilities of fellows will include presenting their research output, holding lectures, workshops and seminars, and engaging other scholars, policymakers, and the business community to stimulate discussions on pressing national issues.

Qualified applicants will be vetted and screened by the UPPEJA Fellowship Committee.

How do I submit my application?

Interested applicants should send an email to [email protected], together with their 1) Cover Letter specifying the specific research question they wish to address, 2) latest Curriculum Vitae, and 3) 350-500-word extended Abstract of their proposed paper.

Applications are now closed.

What is the duration of the Fellowship?

The Fellowship will be from July 26, 2023 to June 30, 2024.

What is expected of a UPPEJA Fellow?

The Fellow is expected to:

  1. conduct research and coordinate meetings with project fellows, when necessary,
  2. present their paper together with other fellows appointed to the same research project in a policy forum,
  3. take note of any points raised in the forum for possible incorporation in the Final paper due by June 30, 2024;
  4. serve as resource person for EDCOM II initiatives, especially but not limited to congressional hearings on the topic of their study.

Should I apply even if my intended study does not fit under the indicated research questions?

The current iteration of the UPPEJA Fellowship is closely targeted towards solving issues in Governance and Finance in the country’s education system. Successful applicants’ research must attempt to answer the research questions.

Why is it called UPPEJA Fellowship?

The Fellowship was established by the University of the Philippines Board of Regents on September 29, 2008 in honor of the late Senator Edgardo J. Angara, who served as UP President from 1981 to 1987 and concurrent UP Diliman Chancellor from 1982 to 1983. Angara, also a former Senate President, is known for his contributions to Philippine education, serving as the Chairperson of the First Congressional Commission on Education in 1990, which was credited with a number of pioneering reforms in the education sector, including its “trifocalization” and the Free Higher Education Act.

Who have been awarded the UPPEJA Fellowship in the past?

Past awardees of the UPPEJA Fellowship include notable scholars and luminaries in their respective fields. They include:

  • Raul V. Fabella (2011)
  • Raul P. Pangalangan (2011)
  • Ramon Pedro Paterno (2011)
  • Gerardo P. Sicat (2011)
  • Herman Joseph Kraft (2013)
  • Clarissa C. David (2015)
  • Stella Luz A. Quimbo (2015)
  • Caesar A. Saloma (2015)
  • Lucia P. Tangi (2015)
  • Aileen San Pablo Baviera (2015)